Hall School of Journalism racks up awards

TROY students performed well at several recent journalism conferences, including the Southeast Journalism Conference in Tennessee.

TROY students performed well at several recent journalism conferences, including the Southeast Journalism Conference in Tennessee.

Troy University journalism students continue to bring home hardware.

The Hall School of Journalism and Communication recently made strong showings at major regional and international conferences, earning awards in a variety of categories.

TROY won the award for Best Television Video News Report at the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System’s international convention, held March 1-3 in New York City.

Meanwhile, Hall School students also excelled at the Southeast Journalism Conference (SEJC) in February, winning or placing in 11 categories.

Members of TrojanVision and the Tropolitan won or placed in eight categories at the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) Mark of Excellence Region 3 competition.

“These recent awards won by students in the Hall School of Journalism and Communication represent more evidence of why TROY has one of the best journalism programs in the country,” said Dr. Jeff Spurlock, Director of the Hall School. “Enough words cannot express how happy I am for these students and staff members. These awards also are great recruiting tools for prospective students wanting to major in journalism and communication and wishing to make TROY their home for higher education.”

TROY won or placed in the following awards at the SEJC Best of the South Competition:

Justin Blowers—First Place, Best Radio Hard News Reporter

Lacey Alexander—Second Place, Best Radio Journalist

Scott Shelton—Second Place, Best Newspaper Sports Writer

Olivia Nobles—Second Place, Best Newspaper Arts And Entertainment Writer

Kendall Newton—Second Place, Best Print Advertising Staff Member

Adoria MacHale Hughes—Third Place, Best Television Hard News Reporter

Lauren Harksen—Fourth Place, Best Television Feature Reporter

Chris Wallace—Seventh Place, Best Press Photographer

In the On-Site Competition, Pradyot Sharma won third place in Op/Ed Writing.

Students who won awards at the SPJ competition include:

Zach Henson—First Place, Breaking News Reporting, In-Depth Reporting, Breaking News Photography

Zach Henson and Jessica Gunn—First Place, General News Reporting

Taylor Walding—First Place, Feature Reporting

Abigail Nicholson and Chris Wallace were finalists in the editorial cartoon and feature photography categories, respectively.

Students who attended the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System convention include: Kayla Chandler, Allison Deloach, Cody Giles, Ryon Gibson, Tanner Gorum, Alexis Harvey, Colvin Prince and Ayanna Williams.