TROY student journalists win national, regional awards

TROY TrojanVision took home awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System during the 2018 conference.

TROY TrojanVision took home awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System during the 2018 conference.

Troy University’s student media brought home awards from three national and regional conferences for 2018.

TROY TrojanVision News won two national awards from the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) for Best Television/Video Newscast and Best Television/Video Promotion and were finalists for three others.

This is the first year TrojanVision has competed in the IBS competition, according to Jeff Spurlock, director of the Hall School of Journalism and Communication.

The Tropolitan, TROY’s student newspaper, and TrojanVision also won awards from the annual Southeast Journalism Conference’s Best of the South competition.

For the print division, the Tropolitan won No. 4 for Best College Newspaper and No. 3 for Best Public Service Journalism.

Individual awards include the following: James Shipma, second place for Best Print Advertising Staff Member; Michael Shipma, third place for Best Sports Writer; Emily Foster, fifth place for Best Arts and Entertainment Writer; and Abigail Nicholson, sixth place for Best News-Editorial Artist/Illustrator.

For the broadcast division, TrojanVision won No. 1 for Best College TV Station and Best College Video News Program.

Individual awards for TrojanVision and Troy Public Radio include the following: Eriq Roberts, first place for Best Radio Journalist and third place for Best Radio News Feature Reporter; Sarah Singleterry, second place for Best Television Hard News Reporter; Madison Neal, fourth place for Best Television Journalist; and Anna Kate Patterson, sixth place for Best Television News Feature Reporter.

The Tropolitan also submitted works to the Society of Professional Journalist’s (SPJ) Mark of Excellence competition.

Four Tropolitan writers placed as finalists, which include the following: Zach Henson for feature reporter; Sable Riley for breaking-news reporter; Pradyot Sharma for general columnist; and Josh Thurston for sports photographer.